Skip to content
Dean of Law's Fund

Dean of Law's Fund

One of the most significant changes to the Adelaide Law School is the composition of our student body which now reflects more closely the diverse society which the law serves. With this comes a challenging reality for financially disadvantaged students who, without support, might not be able to attend law school.

This is not a scholarship, but a fund to assist those students who may be in crisis as a result of strained financial circumstances.

The need for such a fund was greater than we had anticipated and therefore have since established a committee to administer the fund on a more formal basis. That committee consists of The Honourable Margaret Nyland AM (LL B 1964) as chair, with committee members, Mr Robert Cameron (LL B 1975), Emeritus Professor Ivan Shearer AM (LL B 1960 & LL M 1965), Mr David Meyer (LLB 1972) and myself as Dean of the School. We undertake the task of reviewing all student applications for funds and distributing them as equitably as possible.

I invite you to consider making a pledge or donation to the Dean of Law's Fund which will provide students an opportunity to focus on their studies without the pressure or distraction of financial difficulties.

Professor Melissa de Zwart
Dean of Law

Dean of Law's Fund Quote 1
"It is important to remember that learning is not a static experience but a lifelong commitment and I have found, to adopt the words of Aristotle, that 'education is an ornament in prosperity and a refuge in adversity'." The Honourable Margaret Nyland AM
  • Thank you again to our Donors
    Dean of Law's Fund Donors
    Sort Sort
    Mr David Barnfield Mr Christopher Lee
    Mr Paul Bennett  Mr Nick Linke 
    Mr Mark Blumberg Emeritus Professor Horst Lucke
    Mr David and Mrs Leah Blyth Ms Asha Mayer
    Ms Elizabeth Bolton Mr Leon McEvoy
    The Honourable Catherine Branson QC Ms Julie McIntyre
    Mr Clive Brooks Mr Simon Milazzo
    Mrs Jane Brooks Mr Nic Minicozzi
    Mr Robert Cameron Mr Neville Morcombe QC
    Ms Daniela Cirocco Master Peter Norman OAM
    Professor James Crawford AC The Honourable Margaret Nyland AM
    Mr John Daenke Professor Rosemary Owens
    Mr Les Darling Miss Maria Panagiotidis
    Mr Graham Dart Mr Graeme Parkinson
    Associate Professor Melissa de Zwart & Francesco de Zwart Miss Rebecca Pym
    Ms Linda Dore Mr Michael Randle
    The Honourable John Doyle AC QC Ms Sue Raymond
    Mr Paul Finn Mr Philip Scales AM
    Ms Lin Gilfillan Emeritus Professor Ivan Shearer AM
    Mrs Dianne Gray The Honourable Justice Timothy Stanley QC
    Mr Richard Halliday Justice John Sulan
    Mr Denis Harrison The Honourable John von Doussa AO QC and Ms Julie von Doussa
    Mr Peter Herriman Mr Matthew Walsh
    Mr Martin Hinton QC Ms Mary Walters
    Mr Deane Jarvis The Honourable Justice Richard White
    Mr Kym Kelly The Honourable Margaret White AO 
    Mr Trevor R Killmier Mr Dick Whitington QC
    Mr Paul Leadbeter Professor John Williams
    Professor Geoffrey Lindell AM Family of the late Mr Malcolm Penn OAM
    Mr Kym Duggan PSM Mr Damian O'Leary
    Adelaide University Football Club National Wine Centre
    CMV Foundation Richards Service Trust
    Kelly & Co. Ms Margaret Ross
    Mr Scott Henchliffe Mr Sam Doyle
    Associate Professor Paul Babie The Honourable Robert Lawson QC
    Mr Stephen Mitchell Mr Michael Mills
    Ms Rosa Nesci Dr Chris Bleby SC
    Dr Rosemary Brooks Mitchell Chambers
    Ms Liesl Chapman SC Ms Vickianne West
    Mr Thomas Besanko Mr Andrew Collett AM
    Crown Counsel Section The Honourable Dr John Bannon AO
    Mr David Meyer and Mrs Jill Cooper Mr John McGinn
    Professor Geof Stapledon The Honourable Justice Anne Bampton
    Mr David Jenkin Ms Tania Collins
    Mr Min Guo Mrs Holly Nikoloff
    Ms Arlene Macdonald Dr Sandy Pitcher
    Mr Bob Piper AO Judge Julie McIntyre
    Mr Jon Lister The Surflen Court Trust
    Mr Alan Moss The Honourable Doreen Bulbeck
    Mr John Beruldsen Ms Catherine Oster
    Ms Annette Lever Mr Jonathon Wells QC
    Workers Compensation Seminar - presented by the Society of Labour Lawyers SA and supported by the Australian Insurance Law Association SA Branch --
Dean of Law's Fund Quote 2
"The Dean's Fund has been highly beneficial and has greatly aided some of my financial concerns."

Thank you to our sponsor

Co-op Bookstore

How else can you support the Adelaide Law School

For further enquiries about giving to the Adelaide Law School please contact Luke van Trigt, Alumni Relations Officer (Faculty of Professions).

Adelaide Law School

Faculty of the Professions




Ligertwood Building
The University of Adelaide
SA 5005
North Tce Campus Map


Telephone: +61 8 8313 5063
Facsimile: +61 8 8313 4344
Staff Directory: Adelaide Law School
Enquire online now

Unified - Current Student Portal
Unified - Current Staff Portal