Skip to content

John Bray Law Alumni Network

The John Bray Law Alumni Network named in honour of the late Dr John Bray, has a rich tradition and continues to build strong bonds between the profession, the School and the community.

About John Bray

The Network is named after The Honourable John Jefferson Bray AC QC (1912-1995) who was Chief Justice of South Australia from 1967 until 1978 and Chancellor of the University of Adelaide from 1968 to 1983. He was born on 16 September 1912 in Adelaide, the first child of Harry Midwinter Bray (1879-1965) and Gertrude Eleanor Bray, née Stow (1886-1970). John was educated at St Peter's College, Hackney, and the University of Adelaide.

Bray was born into prominent Adelaide families on both sides. While his father Harry had a lacklustre career as a share broker after failing twice to enter medicine, his grandfather John Cox Bray (1842-1894) was Premier of South Australia from 1881 to 1884, knighted in 1890 and the South Australian Agent-General in London from 1892 until his death two years later. He transformed a small cottage at 56 Hutt Street into a mansion known as Bray House, and bought a share of the iconic Adelaide Arcade, of which Bray family descendants remain major shareholders.

Find out more about the The Honourable John Jefferson Bray AC.

About the Network

  • Objectives

    The objectives of the network are:

    • To foster the ongoing professional development of law graduates through the provision of activities and services;
    • To provide mutually beneficial links between the legal community, law graduates, law students and the wider community;
    • To encourage and promote the Law School as a source of relevant and challenging graduate and postgraduate legal education;
    • To encourage achievement of the highest academic standards by supporting law students throughout their studies; and,
    • To encourage broad access to the Law School by supporting students from diverse backgrounds.
  • Committee
    Current Committee Members
    President - Mr Matthew Murphy
    Secretary - Jean Chesters
    Treasurer - Hatcher Lucy
    Leah Marrone
    Astrid McLeod
    Peter Norman
    Andrew Hanna
    Kellie Toole
    Anthony Crocker
    Tom Komninos
    Elizabeth Carroll-Shaw
    David Blyth
    Rachel Rodda
    Professor Melissa de Zwart – Dean of Law
    Luke van Trigt – Alumni Relations Officer

Our Events and Activities

  • The John Bray Oration

    The annual John Bray Oration is held in the second half of the year.

    The 2017 John Bray Oration, ‘Law Reform: The Scottish Perspective’ was delivered by Retired Scottish Pleader Mr Len Murray on Wednesday 10 May in Elder Hall.

    Click here for more information.

    Listen to the podcast from the 2017 event:


  • The Chief Justice's Shield Quiz Night

    The annual Quiz Night provides a fun and entertaining evening for the profession, school and friends. The evening is the primary fundraiser for supporting the Network's projects such as the annual Oration, Quiz Night and Student prize. In 2013, the network decided to focus on supporting an undergraduate Adelaide Law School Scholarship.

    The generosity of all that support and attend the Quiz Night has enabled sufficient funds to be raised and achieve the financial target of $5,000 to support an achieving but financially disadvantaged current student at the Adelaide Law School for the following year. The night would also not be possible without our generous sponsors and we encourage you to support them where possible.

    The 2015 Quiz Night was held on Saturday 8 August with Quiz Master, Alex Ward.

    Read story and view photos

    The 2014 Quiz Night was held on Saturday 12 July with Quiz Master, Alex Ward.

    Read story and view photos

  • Scholarship

    The inaugural John Bray Law Alumni Network Scholarship was created in 2014 to support an achieving but financially disadvantaged current student at the Adelaide Law School.

    The Scholarship is funded by the generosity of those involved with the annual Quiz Night.

    John Bray Law Alumni Network Scholarship Recipients

    2014 – Mr Jack Rabl
    2015 – Mr Edward Mitchell
    2016 – Ms Lauren Varo
    2017 – Jake Kriticos

  • Prizes

    The Network will present the following prize from 2014 for law students:

    The Network presented the following prizes for 2013 law students:

    • The John Bray Law Chapter of the Alumni Association Prize won by Alice Wharldall.
    • The John Keeler & The John Bray Law Chapter of the Alumni Prize for Equity won by Cameron McBryde and Alexander Retzlik.
    • The John Keeler & The John Bray Law Chapter of the Alumni Prize for Torts won by Frankie Rodney.
  • Publications

    The Network has published five books, available for purchase through The University of Adelaide Press:

    Titles Available for Purchase

    Hague's History of the Law cover

    Hague's History of the Law in South Australia

    R M Hague

    First Among Equals cover

    First Among Equals

    John Emerson

    History of the Independent Bar cover

    History of the Independent Bar of South Australia

    John Emerson

    Portrait of John Bray cover

    Portrait of John Bray

    Edited by Wilfrid Prest

    Glimpses of a Glorious Life cover

    Glimpses of a Glorious Life

    Edited by Susan Magarey


  • Rupert Max Seminar

    In conjunction with the Law Society of South Australia, the network held a public seminar `Politics, Power, Justice and the Media: controversies from the Stuart Case' in Elder Hall on Saturday 1 April 2006. A who's who of the legal and media world, including prominent human rights lawyer Geoffrey Robertson QC and Justice Michael Kirby, took part in an all-day review at the University of Adelaide of the infamous Rupert Max Stuart trial.

    Highlights of the seminar were later broadcast on Radio Adelaide and the network co-produced a DVD on the matters raised in the seminar. Copies of this DVD were sent to Law Schools and Court Law Libraries throughout Australia. The DVD was subsequently nominated as a finalist for the best Australian Educational Video in the ATOM Awards (Australian Teachers of Media). The DVD is available for sale from the VEA Group.

    The 1959 conviction of Rupert Max Stuart for the murder of Mary Hattam and the subsequent appeals and Royal Commission remain the most discussed criminal case in SA's history. The case is regarded as a turning point in South Australian politics and launched Rupert Murdoch's rise to international fame and prominence.

Adelaide Law School

Faculty of the Professions




Ligertwood Building
The University of Adelaide
SA 5005
North Tce Campus Map


Telephone: +61 8 8313 5063
Facsimile: +61 8 8313 4344
Staff Directory: Adelaide Law School
Enquire online now

Unified - Current Student Portal
Unified - Current Staff Portal