Alumni and Giving

With one of the most extensive financial assistance programs in the University, the Adelaide Law School has a rich tradition of philanthropy and giving.

Funded predominantly by alumni and corporate sponsors, our scholarships and prizes play an important role in encouraging excellence and supporting the next generation of leaders and ensuring all students have access to a high-quality education in law.


The John Bray law alumni network 

The John Bray law alumni network named in honour of the late Dr John Bray, has a rich tradition and continues to build strong bonds between the profession, the school and the community. John Bray law alumni network was also established with the aim of recognising the achievements of a financially disadvantaged student and the Adelaide Law School.

Other activities include the John Bray Oration, publications, and events.

  • John Bray law alumni network committee

    Position Name
    Patron Justice Mark Livesey
    President Judge Katrina Bochner
    Vice-President Ms Sarah Brown
    Secretary Mr Taylor Laverty
    Treasurer Mr Thomas Cadd
    Committee  Ms Alex Beal
    Committee Mr Belal Salih
    Committee Ms Brooke Washusen
    Committee Ms Alexandra Lontos
    Committee Mr Peter Tantalos
    Committee Ms Catherine Skipp
    Committee Mr Jarrad Napier
    Adelaide Law School Rep Dr Beth Nosworthy
    AU Law Students' Society Rep Ms Chelsea Chieng
    Dean, Law School (ex officio) Professor Chris Symes / Professor Judith McNamara (from 1 Aug 2022)
  • John Bray oration

    Originally proposed by John Perry, the first President of the John Bray law alumni network. John was a great admirer of John Bray’s learning and saw the oration as not just a tribute to Bray’s name and memory but as enabling the profession to provide an annual lecture to the University and community which would make a high level intellectual contribution from the alumni and the profession to the Law School, the University and the SA community.

     Previous orations:

    02/04/2019 Geoffrey Robertson AO QC - "Who Owns the Past?" 
    10/05/2017 Mr Len Murray - Scottish Pleader (Retired) - “Law Reform: The Scottish perspective”
    24/09/2014 The Honourable Margaret White AO - “Pro Bono: Good for the Profession, Good for the Country"
    14/10/2013 Chief Justice Robert French AC - “South Australia and the Australian Constitution”
    01/09/2012 The Hon John Doyle AC QC - “Choosing our Judges"
    19/10/2011 Mr David Irvine - "Freedom v Privacy-Getting the Balance Right"
    13/09/2010 Mr Graham Leung - "The Rule of Law under Siege-Some Perspectives from the Third World"
    11/03/2009 Justice Richard Goldstone - "Revenge or Forgiveness: Truth and Reconciliation in the aftermath of Human Rights Violations"
    06/09/2007 Professor Barry Jones - "Censorship and Security Threats to a Free Society in an Age of Terror"
    29/10/2004 Mr Tim Costello - "Civil Liberties and Compassion in an age of Terrorism"
    28/11/2002 Senator Robert Hill, Minister for Defence - "Terrorism and International Law"
    20/10/2000 Justice Callinan - "Legal and Other Literature"
    13/08/1999 Justice Gummow - "Australian Equity"
    17/07/1998 Mr Michael Davis - "Lawyer Lost in Space"
    01/09/1997 Justice Michael Kirby - "Appointment to the High Court-what is it really like?"
    22/08/1994 Sir Daryl Dawson - "Do Judges Make Law? Too Much?"
    22/11/1993 Dame Roma Mitchell -  "Reminiscences of a 1930s Law Student and Practitioner"
    23/08/1993 Justice Elizabeth Evatt - "Gender Issues and Law"

Giving back and supporting the Adelaide Law School

By contributing to one of the Law School alumni funds, you will be supporting the next generation of leaders in accessing an Adelaide Law School education.

  • Dean of Law's Fund

    The Dean of Laws Fund has been established with the support of alumni and corporate partners to assist students who are experiencing financial difficulties which impact upon their ability to study with the Adelaide Law School due to short-term financial need in either education or living expenses. By supporting this scholarship you will help to make an education at the Adelaide Law School a reality for disadvantaged students, as well as contributing to a diverse student body reflecting the society which the law serves.

  • The John Bray Alumni Network scholarship

    The John Bray law alumni network named in honour of the late Dr John Bray, and has a rich tradition of building strong bonds between the legal profession, the School and the community. The John Bray law alumni network was also established in 2014 with the aim of recognising the achievements of a financially disadvantaged student and the Adelaide Law School.

    John Bray Alumni Network Scholarship

  • Support

    We also welcome support for the Adelaide Law School through by non-financial means. We have opportunities for alumni and legal professionals interested in mentoring, judging moots & competitions, guest speaking, student prizes, clerkships, work experience, and free legal clinics.

    Explore other ways to contribute to the Adelaide Law School